Delete a WordPress Category Will Delete Posts under It ?
Sometimes we realize we have created too many categories in a WordPress blog site since several years passed. So we want to remove part of categories, but how about our posts which have been set to under the category ? Will they be deleted with the category ?
The answer is No. you can delete a WordPress category, but your posts which related will be kept, but the posts will be move to the default category automatically.
We tried to search the answer from official information and finally we found it:
“…Any Category that has the checkbox set will be deleted when the Delete button is clicked. Deleting a category does not delete the posts in that category. Instead, posts that were only assigned to the deleted category are set to the default Post Category (see Administration > Settings > Writing) ….”